Ayurveda description of 7 tissues !

The Seven Dhatus in Ayurveda: 

Ayurveda, has 7 tissues or Dhatus of the body described as what function each one holds and how it impacts the body. These are the structures that make up our body. An understanding of the seven dhatus is important to understanding pathology; what goes wrong in the body. When a dosha enters a dhatu, a proper understanding of the dhatu helps the practitioner predict the symptoms that will manifest and provides clues to the best treatment.

  1. Rasa Dhatu : Plasma
  2. Rakta Dhatu : Blood
  3. Mamsa Dhatu : Muscles
  4. Medas Dhatu : Fat
  5. Asthi Dhatu : Bones
  6. Majja Dhatu : Nervous System
  7. Shukra Dhatu : Reproductive Tissue

Rasa Dhatu: Plasma

The word Rasa means sap, juice, or liquid. Rasa refers directly to the plasma and interstitial fluids. Rasa dhatu relates indirectly to breast milk and menstrual fluid. The Rasa dhatu, made up of the element water, possesses qualities like; it is cold, heavy, moist, soft, cloudy, and dull. Thus, the health of Rasa dhatu plays is the health of Kapha dosha.

Rasa Dhatu!

When rasa dhatu is depleted, the skin becomes dry and rough; dryness in the bowels produces constipation. Rasa dhatu provides the body and mind with the sap that runs through the vessels of our bodies. It is important to take good care of it and assure that life is satisfying.

Rakta Dhatu: Blood

The word rakta means colored as well as reddened. Rakta refers directly to the blood, specifically the red blood cells, and indirectly to the bile. Rakta dhatu is more than blood. When rakta dhatu is healthy, a person feels energised with a healthy passion for life. When rakta dhatu is in excess heat in the body increases, body experiences inflammation, and the mind experiences greater intensity and sharper focus.

When rakta dhatu is deficient, the heat in the body decreases and the tissues of the body become cold and stiff while the mind loses its sharpness and focus.

The rakta dhatu, is made of element fire, it is hot, light, dry, hard, rough, and sharp. Thus, the health of rakta dhatu plays an important role in determining the health of

In order to evaluate the health of the rakta dhatu, the blood should be evaluated. The red blood cell count tells of the quantity of rakta dhatu that is present.

Mamsa Dhatu: Muscles

The term “mamsa dhatu” literally means “flesh” or “meat,” in Ayurveda it refers to the muscles of the body.

Mamsa dhatu is more than muscle; it is the provider of strength, courage, and self-confidence. When healthy, our muscles work in a modest fashion to express the needs and desires of the ego, while also available to express the creative inspiration. In other words, our flesh (body) is the part that identifies with the ego according to ayurveda.

Mamsa dhatu!

Muscle is built from earth and fire, and is then motivated by air. Earth provides the substance from which the bulky structure of muscle is made, and fire ignites the engine that directs its focus and action. Muscle is a highly metabolic tissue.

A healthy mamsa dhatu is necessary to do the work of life. In order to keep it healthy, it is important to know and to take the appropriate actions that are necessary to restore balance.

Medas Dhatu: Fat

Medas dhatu is more than the fatty and oily tissues of the body. It plays an important role in our capacity to love and be loved. The medas dhatu, being a concentrated form of rasa, deepens and stabilizes this feeling. When the medas dhatu is healthy, there is a deeper and longer lasting satisfaction that is less easily disturbed, providing a solid foundation for love.

Medas dhatu!

A much more subtle form of medas protects consciousness from the intensity of the light of pure awareness.

A healthy medas dhatu leads to a body that acts like a well oiled machine and a heart that is capable of love and devotion. In order to keep it healthy, it is important to take the appropriate actions to restore balance.

Asthi Dhatu: Bones

Asthi means bone. Asthi dhatu gives the structure to the body. Asthi dhatu is basically our skeleton system. Asthi gives support to these structures and gives shape to our body. A human body is supported by the strong bones to be able to move. It contains all cartilaginous components in the human body. All the dhatus help each other to help the body function properly. Asthi dhatu is bones and teeth. It is our bones that support the muscles, fat, ligaments and gives us shape, so it is very important to maintain our asthi dhatu.

Asthi Dhatu

In conclusion, a healthy asthi dhatu leads to stronger bones.

Majja Dhatu: Nervous System

Majja means marrow, majja dhatu is for bone marrow. The majja dhatu is associated with the entire nervous system. Lesser and more engagement in the world is the way according to ayurveda. When majja dhatu is healthy, there is a sense of completion and fulfillment. The skull brain and spinal cord is also the part of majja dhatu.

Shukra Dhatu: Reproductive Tissues

Shukra means bright, pure radiant, it can also mean the essence. In ayurveda, this term is commonly used for describing both male semen and female eggs. As they contain the essence of all the other dhatus. Shukra is the seventh dhatu a person with a healthy shukra has a confidence, brightness.

We hope you liked and enjoyed this article and found it to be beneficial to all!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.